Niue Treaty Subsidiary Agreement


    The treaty was signed by (or on behalf) of 17 states/territories; In 2013, 14 ratified the treaty: the Niue Treaty on Cooperation in Fisheries Control and Enforcement in the South Pacific or the De Niue Treaty are a multilateral treaty concluded by members of the Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency to improve their ability to effectively enforce their fisheries legislation and prevent violations. New Zealand played an important role in the development of the NTSA and signed the agreement in 2014. “This treaty focuses on strengthening cooperation efforts in surveillance, control and surveillance to combat IND fishing. As Guardian Patrol ships cross Australian waters en route to their home ports, AFMA is asking crews to keep an eye on all AFZ foreign fishing vessels (FFVs). The Tuvalu Guardian Patrol Vessel, HMTSS Te Mataili II, is the first ship to support this activity and AFMA recently welcomed the commanding officer and crew as evidence of our esteem and commitment to day-to-day relations. Combating illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing in the region remains one of New Zealand`s top priorities, and Under-Secretary of State Tabuteau stressed that the solutions lie in a common regional approach. The replacement of Pacific-class patrol vessels offers the opportunity to involve contracting parties in the Niue Treaty Partnership Agreement (NTSA). As Guardian Patrol vessels are commissioned, afMA takes the opportunity to conduct additional surveillance in the Australian Fishing Area (AFZ). Under Article XIII, a state that is not a party to the Forum`s Fisheries Agency agreement may also accede to the treaty if all contracting parties agree.

    Dr Tupou-Roosen thanked the Under-Secretary of State and said: “We [FFA] welcome New Zealand`s ratification of the Niue Treaty Multilateral Subsidiary Agreement, which has so far involved 13 contracting parties. The first country to sign the NTMSA was the Republic of Palau on November 9, 2012. [3] The multilateral subsidiary agreement requires four instruments of ratification, acceptance or approval to enter into force. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs Fletcher Tabuteau today announced New Zealand`s ratification of the Multilateral Subsidiary Agreement (NTSA) at the opening of the sixteenth annual ministerial meeting of the Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Committee in the Federated States of Micronesia. In the past, subsidiary bilateral agreements have been concluded between the various treaty signatories to implement certain provisions of the treaty. However, on 2 November 2012, a comprehensive multilateral agreement on subsidiarity [2] to strengthen the implementation of the De Niue Treaty was concluded and was concluded for signature in Honiara. Following his speech, Under-Secretary of State Tabuteau presented New Zealand`s ratification instrument to the custodian of the NTSA, Director General of the Fisheries Agency (FFA), Dr. Manu Tupou-Roosen, and congratulated the FFA on 40 years of operation.